Alfa Romeo Racing

Kimi Räikkönen Antonio Giovinazzi

Alfa Romeo Racing

Alfa Romeo Racing are a Formula 1 team in the 2019 season. The team changed their name in 2018 from Alfa Romeo Sauber ahead of the new season but Alfa Romeo have a rich history in motorsport.

They started making racing cars in 1913 three years after the formation of A.L.F.A. They competed under the alias of Sauber from 1993 but their history in the division goes back all the way to 1950. The team are based in Hinwil in Switzerland and their CEO is Frederic Vasseur. They will line up with Kimi Raikkonen and Antonio Giovinazzi in 2019.

Team NameAlfa Romeo Racing
BaseHinwil, Swiss
Team LeaderFrédéric Vasseur
Technical LeaderAxel Kruse

Alfa Romeo - 1950-1987

Alfa Romeo first competed in Formula 1 between 1950 and 1987 but only competed as the works team until 1951. During this period the Italian team dominated F1 using the pre-war Alfetta. McLaren and March both used Alfa Romeo v8 engines during the 1970s and many smaller F1 teams used their straight 4 engines.

Between 1976 and 1979 Alfa Romeo provided the engine for The Brabham F1 team during a spell in which Niki Lauda raced for them. It suggested a direct return for the constructors and indeed they did between 1979 and 1985.

In 1987 a deal was struck which would see Alfa Romeo provide Ligier with engines however the deal fell through following Fiat’s involvement with the Swiss constructors. Osella also ran an Alfa engine until 1987 but this was with little success.

Sauber - 1993-2017

Sauber first burst onto the scene at the 1993 South African Grand Prix, a race won by Alain Prost. Over the years the team competed with several different engines, beginning with Mercedes Benz until 1994. The team had originally been planned following the end of the first ‘turbo era’ but was eventually put on hold. The two continued to work in unison and eventually made their debut at Kyalami. They made a steady start finishing just outside the points several times but through their second season results were disappointing. Despite this following the death of Ayrton Senna, Sauber proved important in the development of prototype cockpit head protection.

Since then Sauber have worked with Red Bull and Ferrari but had their most notable result at the 2008 Canadian Grand Prix under BMW. Robert Kubica won the race and to date it is the only race win Sauber have achieved.

In 2010 they became independent running with a Ferrari engine after they were given FIA entry in December 2009.

Until becoming independent in 2017, Sauber was home to several different drivers such as: Kamuyi Kobayashi, Sergio Perez and Sebastian Vettel, all of which have gone onto mixed degrees of success in the sport.

Alfa Romeo Sauber/ Alfa Romeo Racing - 2017-Present

In November 2017 it was confirmed Sauber would begin a partnership with Alfa Romeo for the 2018 season officially becoming Alfa Romeo Sauber team. In 2018 Charles Leclerc and Marcus Ericsson lined up for the team which achieved 48 points, 39 from the wheel of Charles Leclerc. Leclerc would eventually move onto sign for Ferrari and was replaced at Sauber by the man he replaced, 2007 World Champion Kimi Raikkonen. Antonio Giovinazzi was signed to replace Marcus Ericsson, so the team had a fresh new lineup for 2019.

On February 1st 2019 it was announced the team would no longer be known as Alfa Romeo Sauber instead going by the name Alfa Romeo Racing. The team remained under the same management structure.

Read more Read less

Alfa Romeo Racing News

You will be logged out and redirected to the homepage